Senior Emotions #1

mar_17_19

Reference from a collection of images titled “Senior Emotions” from the book Anatomy For Sculptors

Sometimes, when I’m not drawing, I become nihlistic and say to myself “What’s the point in drawing something that is in a photograph?  Isn’t the photograph better and simpler?”  That’s  my nihlistic left brain talking.  It has a hard time seeing meaning and beauty.  But once I start to draw and my right brain takes over, I instantly understand that the task of seeing the shapes, volumes and lines in a photo and drawing them as I recognize them is an immensely meaningful activity.

Leave a Reply

